clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USILA announces Division I men’s college lacrosse All-Americans, individual award winners

Yale’s Ben Reeves named Most Outstanding Player.

Yale Athletics

The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association, more known as the USILA, released their All-American teams and individual award winners for the 2018 season.

The All-American teams are listed below:

2018 USILA First Team All-Americans

Position Player School
Position Player School
Attack Connor Fields Albany
Attack Jeff Teat Cornell
Attack Justin Guterding Duke
Attack Pat Spencer Loyola
Attack Ben Reeves Yale
Midfield Brad Smith Duke
Midfield Joel Tinney Johns Hopkins
Midfield Connor Kelly Maryland
Midfield Dox Aitken Virginia
Defense Cade Van Raaphorst Duke
Defense Foster Huggins Loyola
Defense Ben Randall Ohio State
FOGO Trevor Baptiste Denver
LSM John Sexton Notre Dame
SSDM Zach Goodrich Towson
Goalie JD Colarusso Albany
Goalie Nick Marrocco Georgetown

2018 USILA Second Team All-Americans

Position Player School
Position Player School
Attack Michael Sowers Princeton
Attack Jules Heningburg Rutgers
Attack Michael Kraus Virginia
Midfield Kyle McClancy Albany
Midfield Jay Drapeau Loyola
Midfield Bryan Costabile Notre Dame
Midfield Ian MacKay Vermont
Defense Bryce Young Maryland
Defense Michael Rexrode Rutgers
Defense Chris Fake Yale
FOGO TD Ierlan Albany
LSM Connor Keating Penn
SSDM Tyler Warner Yale
Goalie Christian Knight Cornell

2018 USILA Third Team All-Americans

Position Player School
Position Player School
Attack Will Sands Bucknell
Attack Ethan Walker Denver
Attack Jared Bernhardt Maryland
Midfield Craig Berge Georgetown
Midfield Austin Sims Princeton
Midfield Jack Tigh Yale
Defense Jake Pulver Cornell
Defense Dylan Gaines Denver
Defense JT Giles-Harris Duke
Defense Patrick Foley Johns Hopkins
Defense Nick Mellen Syracuse
Defense Christopher Keating Yale
FOGO Gerard Arceri Penn State
FOGO Conor Mackie Yale
LSM Troy Reh Albany
SSDM Ryan Hursey Georgetown
SSDM Ryan Terefenko Ohio State
Goalie Jack Concannon Hofstra

2018 USILA Honorable Mention All-Americans

Position Player School
Position Player School
Attack Tehoka Nanticoke Albany
Attack Chris Gray Boston University
Attack Daniel Bucaro Georgetown
Attack Morgan Cheek Harvard
Attack Asher Nolting High Point
Attack Kyle Marr Johns Hopkins
Attack Shack Stanwick Johns Hopkins
Attack Cole Williams Johns Hopkins
Attack Chris Cloutier North Carolina
Attack Ryder Garnsey Notre Dame
Attack Tre Leclaire Ohio State
Attack Mac O'Keefe Penn State
Attack Christian Cuccinello Villanova
Midfield Sean O'Brien Bucknell
Midfield Jordan Dowiak Cornell
Midfield Colton Jackson Denver
Midfield Peter Conley Duke
Midfield Tim Rotanz Maryland
Midfield Brent Noseworthy Michigan
Midfield Brendan Gleason Notre Dame
Midfield Christian Mazzone Rutgers
Midfield Max Tuttle Sacred Heart
Midfield Jamie Trimboli Syracuse
Midfield Jeff Trainor UMass
Defense Johnny Surdick Army West Point
Defense Dylan Johnson Denver
Defense Craig Chick Lehigh
Defense Curtis Corley Maryland
Defense Hugh Crance Notre Dame
Defense Erik Evans Ohio State
Defense Chris Sabia Penn State
Defense Zach Bryant Robert Morris
Defense Isaac Paparo UMass
Defense Scott Hooper Virginia
FOGO Kenny Massa Bryant
LSM Jack Rowlett North Carolina
SSDM Drew Schantz Notre Dame
Goalie Phil Goss Brown
Goalie Dan Morris Maryland
Goalie Alex Heger Robert Morris
Goalie Nick Washuta Vermont

A lot of guys that deserved the honor, especially at the attack position for the First Team squad. There’s five of them. All five of them definitely played up to First Team potential.

One player I’m surprised didn’t get even an Honorable Mention was Canisius Golden Griffins attackman Connor Kearnan. Kearnan was tied with Virginia’s Michael Kraus for eighth in the nation at 4.88 points a game. He was also tied with Kraus and Princeton’s Michael Sowers for fifth in the nation with 88 points. I think Kearnan had better seasons than a handful of guys that were Honorable Mentions.

The USILA also announced their individual award winners:

  • Lt. Col. J. I. (Jack) Turnbull Award (Outstanding Attackman): Pat Spencer, Loyola
  • Lt. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award (Outstanding Midfielder): Trevor Baptiste, Denver
  • William C. Schmeisser Award (Outstanding Defensive Player): John Sexton, Notre Dame
  • Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award (Outstanding Goalie): JD Colarusso, Albany
  • Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award (Outstanding Player): Ben Reeves, Yale

The Enners Award has ben a very good guess as to who the Tewaaraton Award winner would be. The last six years, the winner of the Enners Award has won the Tewaaraton Award. Since the Tewaaraton Award was established in 2001, 11 of those winners have won the Enners Award. With Reeves still playing in Championship Weekend, it appears he’s currently the favorite the win the Tewaaraton Award over Justin Guterding and Connor Kelly, who are also playing this weekend, as well as Pat Spencer and Trevor Baptiste.