clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tewaaraton Watch List Second Round Additions Announced

There are now 64 men's players highlighted for potential Tewaaraton recognition.

Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced its second round of additions to its initial Watch List, putting three more players into the Watch list pool that started with 50 cats and ballooned to 61 mythical lacrosse creatures following the foundation's first round of additions. To the press release!

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the [second] round of additions to the 2015 Tewaaraton Award Men’s and Women’s Watch Lists, presented by Under Armour. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the Tewaaraton Award, which will be announced May 28 in Washington, D.C.

"These additions are validation for these deserving players that their hard work and commitment has been acknowledged by the selection committees," noted Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "Congratulations to these individuals and their teammates."

Here are the three players joining the initial and expanded Watch List:

Trevor Baptiste Denver Freshman Faceoff
Matt Rambo Maryland Sophomore Attack
Mike Rooney Stony Brook Senior Midfield

The Tewaaraton Foundation will eventually narrow the field to 25 players on April 23rd -- a more than reasonable argument exists that the pool of candidates should be limited to 25 players right now -- and five finalists will be named on May 7th. Albany's Lyle Thompson is the presumed frontrunner for this thing, but you never know how voting members will look at the field once the calendar turns to May.


Initial Tewaaraton Award Watch List Announed
Tewaaraton Watch List First Round Additions Announced