clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tewaaraton Watch List First Round Additions Announced

The pool for one of college lacrosse's highest honors now features 61 candidates.

Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced its first round of additions to its initial Watch List, putting 11 more players into the Watch List pool that started with 50 cats. To the press release:

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the first round of additions to the 2015 Tewaaraton Award Men's and Women's Watch Lists, presented by Under Armour. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the Tewaaraton Award.

"These players have been recognized for their outstanding play during the 2015 season, said Jeff Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. "They have the attention of the top coaches and are added to the mix of those that will be considered for the game's top Award."

Here are the almost dozen men's players join the initial 50-person Watch List:

Mike Begley Marist Senior Midfield
Kyle Bernlohr Maryland Junior Goalie
Greg Coholan Virginia Virginia Midfield
Zach Currier Princeton Sophomore Midfield
Brady Dove Navy Sophomore Faceoff
Luke Goldstock North Carolina Sophomore Attack
Zach Herreweyers Loyola Junior Attack
Casey Ikeda Maryland Senior Defense
Dylan Malloy Brown Sophomore Attack
Kip Orban Princeton Senior Midfield
Ben Williams Syracuse Sophomore Faceoff

Some brief notes on the additions:

  • According to Patrick McEwen's latest FOGO ratings, Williams ranks 10th nationally while Dove ranks seventh in the model. Charlie Raffa, Kevin Massa, and Joseph Nardella -- specialists named to the initial Watch List -- rank first, second, and 15th in McEwen's latest ratings, respectively.
  • Malloy leads the country in goals per game at 5.17. Herreweyers ranks fifth with 3.63 buckets per game while Goldstock ranks seventh at 3.33 goals per outing.
  • Malloy leads the nation in points per game at 7.17 and, among Watch List first round additions, only Goldstock finds a spot in the top 15 in points per game (4.56).
  • Bernlohr leads the nation in save percentage at 70.8 percent.
  • Among those added to the initial Watch List, Lax Bytes ranks Goldstock as the third most effective attackman in the nation (Malloy ranks sixth in the system), Williams as the ninth most impactful midfielder (Coholan comes in at 17th and Orban holds the 19th position), and Bernlohr sits atop his position as the most impactful goalie in the nation.

The initial Watch List can be found here. A second round of additions, if necessary, will be announced on April 9, 2015 and the Tewaaraton Foundation will trim the candidate pool to 25 players on April 23, 2015 (the shrinking of the Watch List to 25 players can operate as a third round of additions if the Tewaaraton Foundation deems it appropriate). Five men's finalists will be announced on May 7, 2015.