clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 College Lacrosse Preview: Johns Hopkins Picked as Big Ten Preseason Favorite

According to the league's coaches, the Terps are the team to beat in the Big Ten's new lacrosse concern.

Jim Rogash/Getty Images

The Big Ten will enter its inaugural season of Division I competition in 2015. Structured with six schools -- Johns Hopkins (an affiliate member), Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers -- the league has the potential to not only throw a handful of team's into the NCAA Tournament -- including an automatic qualifier -- but also stand as one of the more complete and competitive leagues in college lacrosse's highest  level of play. There is still a freshness to the Big Ten's lacrosse concern, but the youth of the conference -- at least for lacrosse purposes -- is mitigated by the fact that it will be led by two of the nation's most decorated programs: The league's coaches have tabbed Johns Hopkins as the Big Ten's preseason favorite with Maryland slipping in directly behind the Jays.

The press release:

With the inaugural season of Big Ten men’s lacrosse less than two weeks away, Johns Hopkins was selected as the preseason favorite to claim the first Big Ten Championship.

Here's how the voting shook out:

1. Johns Hopkins Possibly? Probably!
2. Maryland Maybe? A decent chance!
3. Penn State Unlikely! Likely higher than zero!
4. Ohio State Unlikely! Likely higher than zero but less than Penn State!
5. Rutgers Unlikely! Points are for the Proletariat!
6. Michigan Unlikely! The least of 'em!

The Big Ten did not release voting point totals or first-place vote information. For comparison purposes, here's how College Crosse projected the Big Ten going into the season.

The Big Ten apparently doesn't believe in preseason all-league honors. Instead, the league allowed each coach to select three players from his own team -- BIAS! -- to comprise a Players to Watch list. This is potentially the most Big Ten thing ever.

A Ryan Brown Johns Hopkins Jr.
LSM Michael Pellegrino Johns Hopkins Sr.
A Wells Stanwick Johns Hopkins Sr.
G Kyle Bernlohr Maryland Sr.
D Matt Dunn Maryland Jr.
F/O Charlie Raffa Maryland Sr.
A Ian King Michigan So.
G Gerald Logan Michigan So.
M Mikie Schlosser Michigan So.
A Carter Brown Ohio State Jr.
D Robby Haus Ohio State Jr.
M Jesse King Ohio State Sr.
D J.P. Burnside Penn State Sr.
F/O Drake Kreinz Penn State So.
A T.J. Sanders Penn State Jr.
A Scott Bieda Rutgers Jr.
M Brian Goss Rutgers Sr.
F/O Joe Nardella Rutgers Sr.