clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Big Ten Lacrosse Tournament: Johns Hopkins Defeats Ohio State 13-6

Hopkins dominates Ohio State to win the inaugural Big Ten Tournament title.

Joseph Labolito/Getty Images

(3) Ohio State v. (1) Johns Hopkins
Final Score: 13-6, Johns Hopkins

Johns Hopkins dismantled Ohio State en route to the first ever Big Ten Tournament title. The Jays were sharp on offense, especially in the first half as six different players scored a goal to help lead Johns Hopkins to a 6-3 halftime lead. The second half saw more of the same as Hopkins exploded for another five goals in the third quarter to squash any hope of a Buckeyes comeback. Aside from a few late fourth quarter goals by Ohio State, Hopkins was in full command and led Ohio State 12-3 with less than 7:00 to play in the final period.

Eric Schneider was excellent in goal for the Jays, as he and the rest of Hopkins' defense held the Buckeyes scoreless in the first and third quarters. Holden Cattoni led Hopkins with three goals. All-world attackman Ryan Brown added another two buckets; Brown's goals continued his consecutive game scoring streak to 31. Nine different Hopkins players scored at least one goal on the evening.

This is the first conference title in Johns Hopkins' history. It appears the program's decision join a conference was the right call as Hopkins' at-large hopes this season were somewhere between slim and none. Indeed, as of March 29th, the Blue Jays were 3-5 on the season and didn't achieve at-large eligibility until the team evened their record to 6-6 on April 18th after defeating Michigan. The Blue Jays are now 5-0 since the team's April loss to Ohio State, poetically book-ending the team's run to the NCAA Tournament.