clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tewaaraton Watch List Additions Announced

10 men's players were added to the original list of 50.

The Tewaaraton Foundation -- less than a month ago -- announced its initial "Watch List" of 50 -- !!!!!! -- players that were highlighted as contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award. Over the course of 22 days, the Tewaaraton Foundation has found it necessary to add 10 players to its "Watch List" and not cut any from the initial pool of players fighting for college lacrosse's highest honor.

This remains ridiculous. There aren't 60 players that are in the conversation as college lacrosse's best player. There just aren't. The very nature of the Tewaaraton Award is elitist: It promotes and recognizes only the extraordinary. Listing 60 players erodes the symbolism of the award and a player's association with it. The reality here is that there are 25 to 30 cats that probably have a shot at the trophy, and that's with a lot of if-this-happens dominating the oddsmaking.

Anyway, here are the 10 players added to the "Watch List":

Men's First Round Additions
Ryan Brown, Johns Hopkins -- So., A
Devin Dwyer, Harvard -- So., A
Corey Elmer, Cabrini -- Sr., A
Dan Lomas, High Point -- So., A
Zach Miller, Denver -- Fr., A
Liam O'Connor, Notre Dame -- Sr., M/FO
Conrad Oberbeck, Yale -- Jr., A
Nikko Pontrello, Loyola -- Jr., A
Gunnar Waldt, Bryant -- So., G
Ryan Walsh, Colgate -- Jr., A

The "Watch List" now includes:

  • 33 attackmen (that's more than half of the field);
  • 14 core defensive players (five goalies, six defensemen, three long-stick midfielders);
  • Four non-Division I players (this is the Tewaaraton Foundation winking at you); and
  • 19 players from the ACC, constituting 32 percent of the field. The ACC accounts -- in number of schools -- for only nine percent of Division I lacrosse.

Even more players -- potentially -- will be added to the list as the season progresses. The field will not be narrowed to 25 (where it should be right now) until April 24th. Finalists will be announced on May 8th.