clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IMLCA Names Division I Award Honorees

A bunch of people are going to leave Baltimore with heavier bags.


The Intercollegiate Men's Lacrosse Coaches Association handed out some hardware today at the IMLCA Convention in Baltimore.

Division I Head Coach of the Year Award

Coach of the year awards often follow the national title winner of that season, but Danowski earned it: The Duke head coach maneuvered a team that opened its 2013 campaign with a 2-4 start to the national championship. And it's not just that Danowski found a way to take a victory lap on Memorial Monday; it's that he brought a trophy back to Durham despite entering Championship Weekend with the longest odds of the four competing teams.

Division I Outstanding Assistant Coach Award

Brown oversaw the most efficient offense in the nation in 2013, a unit that entered the season needing to replace Mark Matthews and Alex Demopoulos. There arguably isn't an offensive coach in the nation that's better at diagramming set plays than Brown, and his impression on the Denver offense has created a tidal wave of influence.

Additional Awards

IMLCA Extra Man Award: Given to Michigan athletic director Dave Brandon.
IMLCA/Inside Lacrosse SID Sports Information Service Award: Given to Denver's Nicole Dupes Bostel for her service to the Denver men's lacrosse program.
Doyle Smith Media Award: Given to Ohio State's Leann Parker for her efforts to promote the Buckeyes and lacrosse.