clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Premier Lacrosse League announces 17 additional players added to league roster

Eric Law, Miles Thompson, Jeremy Thompson, and Stephen Kelly among top players joining PLL, pushing overall total of players to 157.

Notre Dame Athletics

LOS ANGELES (Dec. 6, 2018) – As the Premier Lacrosse League has moved inside the six-month countdown to the start of its inaugural season, another crop of top-flight talent has just announced their signing to be a part of the PLL. Seventeen more players — including some of the biggest names in the sport — will be on the field for the PLL when the league gets underway in 2019.

Among the 17 names joining the ranks of the PLL — bringing the total number of players to 157 — are Eric Law, one of the most prolific scorers in the sport, as well as Miles and Jeremy Thompson, who both are considered among the game’s best.

“As we begin to draw closer to the start of the inaugural season, it is incredibly invigorating to see the enthusiasm and desire from the top players,” said Kyle Harrison, Director of Player Relations for the Premier Lacrosse League. “With these 17 players joining the 151 who have already signed up, it only strengthens our position as the must-see destination in lacrosse. We’re thrilled to welcome these players to the PLL family and can’t wait to see them on the field beginning in June 2019.”

Since announcing it would revolutionize the sport of lacrosse in October, the PLL has become the home for nearly every top player in the game. Following the lead of PLL co-founder and Chief Strategy Officer Paul Rabil, PLL Analyst Tom Schreiber, and Harrison — all of whom will suit up this season — a slew of players declared they would play in the league.

”The quality of players in the PLL is world-class,” said Paul Rabil. “Every one of us has a unique origin story, but are cut from the same competitive cloth, with performance integrity and grit. When the games begin in June, sports fans will be treated to the highest level of lacrosse competition, ever.”

The full list of players joining the league today is:


Tal Bruno Midfield Johns Hopkins

Dan Coates Defense Canisius

Stephen Kelly Midfield North Carolina

Chris Mattes Midfield Rutgers

Michael O’Neil Midfield Cornell

Dylan O’Shaughnessy Defense Lehigh

Brett Queener Goalie Albany

Joe Resetarits Attack Albany

Jeff Reynolds Midfield Maryland

John Sexton Defense Notre Dame

Jeremy Sieverts Midfield Maryland

Billy Dee Smith Defense Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School

Austin Staats Attack Onondaga Community College

Shack Stanwick Attack Johns Hopkins

Jeremy Thompson Midfield Syracuse

Miles Thompson Attack Albany

Eric Law Attack Denver

The Premier Lacrosse League will begin its inaugural season in June 2019, kicking off a 14-week, 12-city season. Six teams, comprised of the best players in the world, will compete throughout a regular season, all-star weekend, playoffs, and championship.

About the Premier Lacrosse League

The Premier Lacrosse League (PLL) brings the sport of lacrosse to a national stage for the first time through a tour-based model, complete with the best players the game has to offer. Co-founded by lacrosse superstar, philanthropist, and investor Paul Rabil and his brother, serial entrepreneur and investor, Mike Rabil, the Premier Lacrosse League is backed by an investment group comprised of The Raine Group, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), The Chernin Group, and Blum Capital. The league was announced in October 2018, with an exclusive media-rights deal with NBC Sports Group. The PLL season will begin in June 2019, with six teams, embarking on a 14-week season that concludes with a playoff and PLL championship game. The PLL season will be distributed through an exclusive media-rights agreement with NBC Sports Group. For more information, visit, and follow on social media:

Instagram: @PLL

Twitter: @PremierLacrosse

Facebook: @PremierLacrosseLeague