clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Matt Rambo, Zoe Stukenberg Win 2017 Tewaaraton Awards

Rambo is the first men’s winner from Maryland, while Stukenberg continues a six-year stretch of Terp women winners.

NCAA Lacrosse: National Championship-North Carolina vs Maryland Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Maryland Terrapins attackman Matt Rambo and Terrapin midfielder Zoe Stukenberg were announced as the recipients of the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, which is given out to the best college lacrosse player after each season.

Rambo started all 19 games for the Terps at attack and led the team with 45 assists and 87 points. His 42 goals were second on the team behind midfielder Connor Kelly. The senior spearheaded an attack unit nicknamed “Run DMC”, named for himself, along with fellow classmates Dylan Maltz and Colin Heacock. Rambo, a La Salle College High School product, was also named the recipient of the Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award by the USILA, as well as a First Team All-American in both the USILA and media votes, and was the Big Ten’s Offensive Player of the Year. He also broke Bob Boneillo’s career points record at the school.

He was selected third overall by the Charlotte Hounds of Major League Lacrosse in Sunday’s MLL Draft. Our pal Joe Keegan did a post on how Rambo’s game will translate in the pros.

As for Stukenberg, the senior midfielder helped lead an undefeated Maryland team to their 14th National Championship and ninth straight Final Four appearance. She had 53 goals and 31 assists for 84 points, good for second on the team behind Megan Whittle. But she also had 48 ground balls, 74 draw controls, and 21 caused turnovers on the defensive side.

She was also a First Team All-American in both the IWLCA and media selections, and was also the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year. She was recently honored as a finalist for the Honda Award on Thursday.

Rambo beat out Albany Great Danes attackman Connor Fields, Loyola Greyhounds attackman Pat Spencer, Denver Pioneers face-off specialist Trevor Baptiste, and Yale Bulldogs attackman Ben Reeves. All four of these finalists should be back playing in college next year.

Stukenberg beat out teammate defenseman Nadine Hadnagy, along with Princeton Tigers attacker Olivia Hompe, Stony Brook Seawolves attacker Kylie Ohlmiller, and North Carolina Tar Heels midfielder Marie McCool. McCool and Ohlmiller will both be seniors next season.

Earlier in the night, the Tewaaraton Foundation announced their recipients for the Spirit of Tewaaraton Award, as well as their Tewaaraton Legends, and Native American Scholarship award winners.