clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tewaaraton Foundation Announces 25 Men's Nominees for 2015 Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Foundation cut its highlighted player package from 64 to 25.

Rob Carr/Getty Images

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced its 25 nominees for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award today. All players assigned to the 25-member nominees list previously appeared in the Tewaaraton Foundation's latest Watch List, a chronicle that featured 64 players just 14 days ago. Five finalists for the award will be announced on May 7, 2015, those players constituting the pool of eligible competitors for one of college lacrosse's highest individual honors.

From the press release:

The men’s award nominees include players from 14 schools, including 2014 co-winner Lyle Thompson (Albany) and representatives from 11 of the top 20 teams in the April 20 USILA Coaches Poll. Six schools are represented by multiple players, including Syracuse, which leads the nation with four nominees.

Here are the players -- listed in alphabetical order -- that the Tewaaraton Foundation believe are the best in the game right this very second:

Trevor Baptiste Denver Freshman Faceoff
Wes Berg Denver Senior Attack
Kyle Bernlohr Maryland Junior Goalie
Jimmy Bitter North Carolina Senior Attack
Ryan Brown Johns Hopkins Junior Attack
Connor Buczek Cornell Senior Midfield
Connor Cannizzaro Denver Sohpomore Attack
Deemer Class Duke Junior Midfield
Dylan Donahue Syracuse Junior Attack
Matt Donovan Cornell Senior Attack
John Glesener Army Senior Attack
Myles Jones Duke Junior Midfield
Matt Kavanagh Notre Dame Junior Attack
Jesse King Ohio State Senior Midfield
Matt Landis Notre Dame Junior Defense
Dylan Molloy Brown Sophomore Attack
Brandon Mullins Syracuse Junior Defense
Conrad Oberbeck Yale Senior Attack
Sergio Perkovic Notre Dame Sophomore Midfield
Kevin Rice Syracuse Senior Attack
Joey Sankey North Carolina Senior Attack
Dan Taylor Lehigh Senior Attack
Lyle Thompson Albany Senior Attack
Chad Tutton North Carolina Senior Midfield
Ben Williams Syracuse Sophomore Faceoff

Some brief notes on the 25-player list:

  • Almost half of the list -- 12 players -- come from an ACC school. The only ACC school that does not claim a Tewaaraton Award nominee is Virginia. Duke, North Carolina, Syracuse, and Notre Dame each had at least two players included in the Tewaaraton Foundation's trimmed pool of award candidates. The Ivy League placed four players on the list, the Big East (all were from Denver) and Big Ten each had three honored representatives, the Patriot League saw two of its players highlighted, and the America East put (presumed winner) Lyle Thompson in the nominees group. The CAA, MAAC, NEC, and SoCon were shut out of the running for the Tewaaraton Award this season.
  • Of the 14 schools with at least one nominee, Syracuse asserts the most aspirants with four. Notre Dame, North Carolina, and Denver followed the Orange with three nominees each while Duke and Cornell each tout two contenders. Seven schools were honored with a single award hopeful.
  • Attackmen dominated the list with 14 selections while midfielders took up a half-dozen positions. There were as many faceoff specialists as field defensemen (two each). Bernlohr is the only goalie to make the list.
  • Four players that went in the first round of the 2015 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft were not included on the Tewaaraton Foundation's nominees list -- Will Haus (Duke), Ryan Tucker (Virginia), Jack Near (Notre Dame), and Nikko Pontrello (Loyola). The journey from January to May is weird.
  • 12 seniors were honored with a selection while eight juniors earned a note of achievement. Only four sophomores made the cut and one freshman -- Baptiste -- is in the running for the award.